A Basketball Poem by Jake

Basketball

Jump ball the referee takes the ball       

2 bounces then he throws it up

The ball is hit back to me

I start dribbling down

I let my team get set up

“Iso! Iso!” 

I want the ball just me and my defender

I drive then stop

Between the legs and behind the back

I dribble to the opposite block 

I see them going to double me

Spin move 

“Ankles” Everyone shouts as he falls down

I hear the crowd “Shoot it!” 

I take one more dribble and fade away

I jump so high like I’m imitating Kawhi

Swish “And one!”

Basketball, Jump, Dunk, Slam, Player, Ball, Black

One thought on “A Basketball Poem by Jake

  1. Jake, the way you structured your poem really felt like the action of the ball game, how the words moved forward with drive and speed. Swish!

    Thank you for sharing your writing with us all in the challenge!

    ~Miss Blessing
    STUBC commenter
    Vermont, USA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *